Best Practices with Account Status

Best Practices with Account Status

Did you know that there are three main account statuses you can use for your Accounts based on their current team membership? Each of these unique statuses allow you, as the administrator, to set accounts to receive or not receive things like emails, recurring fees, meet results, invoices and much more.

Don't fret, changing these statuses does not limit your ability to communicate with families. In fact, it can actually help you to organize and simplify your team administration using the powerful filtering and saved views capabilities in TeamUnify's Account/Member Administration.

Quickly, let's look into what the three main statuses are for Accounts once they are approved through registration.

 Active

Active is for those families with swimmers on the team or coaches. These Accounts can log in. Their Members can be signed up for meets and have recurring fees generated. Those set up for Auto Pay will have their credit card or bank account charged on the 1st when there is an outstanding balance. The Account will be billed for unworked service hours and unmet fundraising obligations.

 Suspended

Generally used for people who have temporarily left the team and may return. This status will set the Members (athletes) to Suspended by default and does not allow Accounts to sign in. They do not show up in any searches except those explicitly set to Suspended. This is used for previous Accounts that have a billing history, but cannot be deleted. These Accounts will not be charged recurring fees or unworked service hours. We recommend not deleting swimmers who hold top times records, but setting them to this status. You can always send these accounts communication if needed.

 Cancelled/Hidden

Used for Accounts/Members whom you know have permanently left the team. This status will set the Members (athletes) to Cancelled/Hidden by default and does not allow Accounts to sign in. They do not show up in any searches except those explicitly set to Cancelled/Hidden. This is used for previous Accounts that have a billing history, but cannot be deleted. These Accounts will not be charged recurring fees or unworked service hours. We recommend not deleting swimmers who hold top times records, but setting them to this status. You can always send these accounts communication if needed.

 

Best Practice: Account Status

We recommend that active participating members are given the Active status, those that are in limbo or need to be emailed often be set to Suspended, and those you see never coming back to the team set to Cancelled/Hidden. You can always bring back a Suspended or Cancelled/Hidden user if needed.

Account Status Active Suspended Cancelled/Hidden
Situation Swimmer(s) on Team Might Come Back Not Returning
Login Enabled Disabled Disabled
Member(s) Statuses Active, Suspended, or Cancelled Suspended Cancelled
Available Communication Email, Text, Push
(see below)
Email, Text, Push
(see below)
Email, Text, Push
(see below)
Search Shows Up Does Not Show Up
(filter dependent)
Does Not Show Up
(filter dependent)
Billing Recurring and OnDemand OnDemand OnDemand
Invoicing New and Existing Charges Does Not Invoice Does Not Invoice
Auto Pay Runs on the 1st Does Not Charge Does Not Charge

 

 

Best Practice: Emailing Suspended Accounts

TeamUnify's Account/Member Admin makes it quick and easy to communicate with your accounts with any status. The default setting is for you to only see Active accounts. But, with its ability to customize views, it is a TeamUnify best practice to quickly save filter views that you use often in Account/Member Admin. Once saved, you can use these again and again to bulk send communication.

  1. In the side menu click Account/Member Admin.
  2. Click the Members tab to email them, otherwise stay on the Accounts tab.
  3. Click Customize Filters.
  4. Click on Account Status.
  5. Click the status(es) on the right you wish to email, uncheck those you don't, then click Done.

Filters

  1. Select the Account(s) (or Members) you wish to email.
  2. Click Communicate > Send New Email.
  3. Draft your email and fill in the fields and click Send.

If you want to save these views, click the Saved Views button. This will allow you to quickly save and access these views again down the road.

Saved View

It’s an efficient and effective way of keeping your accounts clean, tight and up to date without any questioning of who is really involved. If you need any further information or help please contact support@teamunify.com.

Leave a Comment